Law 36 (Leg before wicket)

 

Official Law

ESCA Local Rules

Guidance

 

Official Law

 

1. Out LBW


The striker is out LBW in the circumstances set out below.
(a)The bowler delivers a ball, not being a No ball

 

and (b) the ball, if it is not intercepted full pitch, pitches in line between wicket and wicket or on the off side of the striker's wicket

 

and (c) the ball not having previously touched his bat, the striker intercepts the ball, either full pitch or after pitching, with any part of his person

 

and (d) the point of impact, even if above the level of the bails
either (i) is between wicket and wicket
or (ii) is either between wicket and wicket or outside the line of the off stump, if the striker has made no genuine attempt to play the ball with his bat

 

and (e) but for the interception, the ball would have hit the wicket.

 

2. Interception of the ball
(a) In assessing points (c), (d) and (e) in 1 above, only the first interception is to be considered.

 

(b) In assessing point (e) in 1 above, it is to be assumed that the path of the ball before interception would have continued after interception, irrespective of whether the ball might have pitched subsequently or not.

 

3. Off side of wicket
The off side of the striker's wicket shall be determined by the striker's stance at the moment the ball comes into play for that delivery.

 

 

ESCA Local Rules

None

 

 

Guidance

The following flow chart aims to provide a check list for an umpire when attempting to make an LBW decision.